Breast Really Is Best!

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed in this blog are solely the opinions of the author, and are no way the opinions of the Australian Breastfeeding Association.

I am all for personal choice, but hear me out. As a mother, I want nothing but the best for my son. For me, this meant breastfeeding. I am currently training with the Australian Breastfeeding Association to become a Community Educator. My goal is to raise awareness about breastfeeding being the NORMAL way to feed a baby and child. My particular focus will be on connecting with ‘young’ mothers and letting them know that breastfeeding is not ‘gross’ or ‘sexy’ but is perfectly natural. If I can help one person decide to breastfeed or help someone continue their breastfeeding journey, then I will be happy.

Personally, I do not ‘get’ the whole idea of bottle-feeding being ‘easier’ than breastfeeding. In my own opinion it’s only ‘easier’ because you can get someone else to do it for you! I am not trying to start a war, simply stating my opinion. Women have been breastfeeding for thousands of years, without the use of bottles or ‘artificial baby milk’. Just because we can choose this option to nurture our children does not mean we have to, or should. I know there are women out there that, for one reason or another, cannot breastfeed and my heart truely goes out to them. For me breastfeeding has been such a wonderful journey, and one I will continue to enjoy for many months to come.

Like all things worth doing, breastfeeding may not be easy to start with, but is so worth it in the long run. For Ryder and I, it took DAYS to get breastfeeding to work for us, trying all sorts of positions and techniques. After many tears of frustration and guilt on my behalf, we made it through the first few days, and every feed has just become easier and more enjoyable ever since. Please, if you are still in two minds whether or not to breastfeed, at least give it a go. Even that first bit of colostrum will be worth more than gold for you newborn. After all, it’s only natural.

2 thoughts on “Breast Really Is Best!

  1. Alicia,
    Not sure how you found my blog, but I’m glad you did. I wasn’t able to breast feed my first child, who is now 25. I had him when I was 17 in the mid-80’s during an era when breast feeding was seen as the radical choice and there wasn’t a lot of support or education for making that choice. As a result, I wasn’t aware of my rights or how to assert my wishes and didn’t have the knowledge or support I needed to pursue my efforts. So, I gave up and used the bottle.

    Now, I’m not saying my life and my relationship with my son would have been happily ever after if I had nursed him. We lived through a lot of difficult circumstances and wrong choices I made. However, losing a critical opportunity to bond with and form an attachment with him, I think, was the first link in a long chain of reactive choices and decisions that has partly contributed to our difficult relationship today.

    I was able to nurse my oldest daughter until she was 9 months; when she stopped nursing “cold-turkey” due to a double ear infection. Again, there was no support person I had to turn to to show me how to care for my breasts & protect my supply. By the time we were able to get to a doctor and figure out what was happening I was told it was too late and I was in too much pain. Again, not blaming this for my relationship issues with her, but giving up too soon and not knowing the value of breast feeding and the emotional and psychological impacts it has, cost me an important opportunity to truly nurture and show her on an ingrained and intimate level how much she was/is loved & cared for.

    By the time my third child was growing in me, I realized that, due to a lot of factors, I probably have an attachment disorder and that the instinctively emotionally and physically nurturing thoughts, feelings, and actions one believes most moms to have towards and engage in with their children has always been and continues to be a struggle for me. As a result, I made a determined and conscious decision that she would be breastfed as long as possible. I am happy to say I was able to nurse her until she was almost three years old.

    Your commitment to educating and supporting others on their breast feeding journeys is such a valuable gift.

    Blessings,
    Kina

What are your thoughts?

